My Life in Cars

When I was a child, I remember a car called the Karmann Ghia, only I thought it was called the Common Gear, like it was named after what kind of transmission it had. I thought that for a long time.

I played with two toy Matchbox-like cars way back when. Both were Thunderbirds. One was red and one was PURPLE.  That’s what I wanted when I grew up. A purple Thunderbird. And you had to pronounce it Thun-dabird.

I didn’t own a car until I was working in Atlanta, when my dad sold me his green Ford LTD for a dollar. It was like driving a boat. Someone hit me as I drove in my apartment’s parking lot. I hardly noticed. It did $200 worth of damage. My husband and I kept the money from the insurance, sold the car, and moved to New Jersey.

My second car was a silver Honda Civic. It didn’t have power steering, and I never realized that until I parked. Other than that, it was a great little car.

Then I drove a red Ford station wagon until the air-conditioning cost more to fix than the car was worth. Now I drive a gold Ford station wagon. We’ve had its air-conditioning fixed twice so far. The antenna won’t retract either.

Maybe it’s time for a new car, or a new used car? I don’t care what kind it is. Power steering would be nice. Maybe silver again or red.

But I’d really love a purple car. And, I think I’m ready for it.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Purple Car of the Weekend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Life in Cars

  1. Pingback: Purple Car of the Weekend | The Sandy Side of Life

Leave a Reply

