A Scurry of Squirrels

Yesterday, while out walking in the neighborhood, I saw what I only hoped I had seen a few days ago—a black squirrel. The other day, I saw a single one flitting through the trees, but now I know at least two live in the neighborhood.

I read in the Washington Post that in the early 1900’s, 18 black squirrels from Canada were released in the National Zoo. I’m pleased to report their offspring have made it to Fairfax County, Virginia.

We, also, have an abundance of grey squirrels in the neighborhood shaking their bushy tails, as the children’s song goes. Although they dig holes in the garden and annoy bird lovers with their bird seed thievery, sometimes they are quite helpful.

Like when this one who had eaten our entire Jack O’Lantern after Halloween. All I had to do was to take in the table the pumpkin had sat on! Entertainment for the cats was a bonus.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Natural Wonders and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Scurry of Squirrels

  1. I love that photo. So funny…

Leave a Reply

