Driving While Wet

View Details

Today is all sunshine and lollipops, but last night was a precursor to the monsoon season. As I drove home from a school function, it appeared as if a small tree branch was caught in my passenger side windshield wiper.

I pulled to the side of the road to examine it in the rain and discovered that the wiper itself was broken. The blade had become detached from the arm and swung like a broken wing.

Driving was impossible. A flat tire, engine trouble, or empty gas tank incapacitates a car, but a wee, thin wiper blade? Sure, if it’s raining and you can’t see.

I intermittently turned on the wipers so one swipe took me twenty feet before I had to clear the windshield again. I parked under a light in an elementary school to either fix it or wait until the rain stopped.

Juggling the pieces was like one of those IQ puzzles, only with two pieces and in the rain. Amazingly, the hook from the arm attached itself to the blade and I was back in business.

So the radio antenna won’t retract and wiper blade is prone to dislocating itself. As long as I can listen to my classical music station and swish the water off the glass, I think my dream purple car will have to wait.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Health and Safety and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

