Turn, Turn, Turn

Have you ever been guilty of turning your car without signaling? Neither have I.

It drives me nuts when I’m waiting for a car to pass so I can drive onto the main road, and he turns. The other day, I was in the middle of three lanes and a woman turned onto the road from the parking lot—into the middle lane. Was it too hard for her to turn the steering wheel with only one hand, seeing as the other hand held her cell phone to her ear?

Oh, dear. This rant is not bringing out the best in me.

Maybe I don’t like to drive. Or, I’m impatient, which is why people don’t bother to signal all the time. I’m waiting for the invention of the transporter, as in “Beam me up, Scottie.” Or, the invention of moveable streets, like the sidewalks in airports. You drive your car onto the ‘on’ ramp, and off you go! No traffic jams. No need to signal. Just move your car into the ‘off’ access lane and park at your destination.

I think that invention might take a while. But, the thought is out there now.

I don’t know where I’m going with this, but wherever it is, I’ll be sure to signal.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Health and Safety and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turn, Turn, Turn

  1. It makes me nuts when people don’t signal, and where I live, they don’t signal A LOT! I even signal in my subdivision at the Stop sign when there’s nobody around. I figure, I don’t want to get out of the habit (ever) of signaling. Signaling is to let other drivers know what you’re doing or going to do. It’s a form of communication. Just because you don’t see any cars around, that doesn’t mean there aren’t any cars around. We’ve all experienced a “surprise” car when we didn’t expect one because we didn’t see it for whatever reason. Better to rant in a blog then to express it in road rage.

Leave a Reply

