More Loveable Words

When I was little, I thought the words ‘fracas’ and ‘tumult’ were Yiddish and was surprised to realize they were not. You can picture them fighting in your mind. Letters tumbling over each other. Very descriptive.

Another word I love is the German word ‘schnupfen’. Schnupfen perfectly describes the stuffiness you feel in your head and nose when you have a cold. In fact, it is the word-picture of the picture that says 1,000 words. Words spoken nasally. It even has its own Wikipedia page!

Which brings to mind the flu shot. I try to get one every year and thought I’d beat the rush by signing up in my local grocery store. But, the wait was so long that I figured the flu season would be over before I was stabbed, and I left.

Anyway, it’s 80 degrees today, Columbus Day, and cold weather and the flu season is about as far away as Germany. At least, that’s what it feels like to me!

Happy Columbus Day!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Favorite Words, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

