Garbage Truck as Writing Tool

Yesterday, I had the misfortune – or fortune – of walking in the neighborhood behind a garbage truck. Although it was for only part of my trip, the memory is vivid.

My chest resonated with the rumble of the engine, the diesel fumes stung my nose, I tasted the acrid fermented aroma, the blue and yellow wheeled monster barreling down the road terrified me, and I winced at the squeal of squeaky wheels.

You get the picture. By describing the experience with all five senses, I’m able to portray an experience more vividly. 

Have you been relying on too few senses in your writing? Yank them out of the closet, give them a pinch, and put them to work!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garbage Truck as Writing Tool

  1. Brigitte says:

    Love the description! The seemingly mundane can be wonderful fodder for a short story or ongoing novel. Nice post and thanks for sharing!

  2. Sandy Green says:

    Thanks for your comment, Brigitte!

  3. Pingback: Garbage Truck as Writing Tool Part 2 | The Sandy Side of Life

Leave a Reply

