Ironing Your Draft

I was ironing a blouse the other day, wishing I could iron it only once. Every time I wash it, I have to iron it. Why can’t I do it once and be done with it?

It’s a little like revising. You write something, revise, reread, revise, send it to your critique partners, revise, etc. etc. 

Sometimes when I iron, I mistakenly press in a few wrinkles and have to smooth them out. It seems the shirt will never be perfect. Don’t even get me started on trousers. Or a giant tablecloth. The minute one half is finished, it pools on the floor in a crumbled heap so the other side can be done. Ironing is a tedious chore. Once the garment is worn, the wrinkling begins. All over again. Ugh.

The big difference is, I actually like revising. Finding the best word that fits or writing a scene that ‘feels right’ is exhilarating.

I just can’t say the same for ironing.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

