Let’s Pizza Like It’s 1985

Last night, I made this pizza from a recipe I had copied onto a recipe card and kept from Organic Gardening Magazine – the January 1985 issue. Yes. From the original issue. In 1985. Wow. Still a good one. I doubled it. Here’s the single recipe:

20 MINUTE HOMEMADE PIZZA

1 tsp. Quick-Rise dry yeast
1/2 c. lukewarm water (110 degrees)
1 tsp. vegetable oil (I used olive)
1/2 tsp. honey
1 1/4  c. whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp. garlic powder (not flavored salts)
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/2 c. thick tomato sauce (I used pizza sauce)
1 c. shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 475 degrees. In a medium bowl, add yeast to lukewarm water. Stir in oil, honey, flour, and garlic and onion powders. Mix thoroughly and squeeze into a ball. Allow dough to rest 5 minutes. Place dough on a lightly oiled pizza pan or cookie sheet (I used a stone). Shape into 11 inch crust. Spread sauce and sprinkle with cheese. Bake for 12 minutes.

I loaded mine with chopped onions, mushrooms, red pepper, and steamed broccoli and increased the baking time by 3 minutes.

Enjoy!

Hint: When reheating pizza, gently warm slice crust-side down in a fry pan! This really works to keep the crust from getting soggy like it does in a microwave.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s Pizza Like It’s 1985

  1. That’s a good idea to warm up pizza in a fry pan. My cast iron pan would be great for that. Thanks Sandy! I’ll remember that one! Love your Before and After photos.

    • Sandy Green says:

      Thanks, Marcella! Using a cast iron pan is a great idea!

      • I love them because they hold the heat longer and I am persnickety about hot food turning cold! Especially at a restaurant. I’ve often thought about inventing a plate that could be battery operated that would keep the plate warm and also the food. Never got around to it though. : – )

  2. Sandy Green says:

    Another great idea!

Leave a Reply

