Rockin’ the Writing Life – Interview with Children’s and YA Author Gayle C. Krause

“If I can do it once, I can do it again!” 

Gayle C. Krause

Gayle C. Krause, fellow SCBWI member and author, took time out to answer these questions about her writing life. 

Thanks, Gayle, and congrats on your success!

1. Do you have a favorite place to write?

Yes. I have a writer’s loft in our great room, where my favorite children’s books surround me. Pictures of fairies, mermaids and dragons hang on my walls and stuffed dolls that I’ve designed and sewn, from the characters in my books, sit next to me for inspiration. “If I can do it once, I can do it again!” 

ROCK STAR SANTA, my rhyming seasonal picture book has sold over 138,000 copies to date. YAY!

2. What do you love most about writing?

I’d have to say the creative surges. I never know what will trigger a new idea or character. Sometimes it’s one word and sometimes it’s a place, but I take in as much as I can through my senses and trust that at night, while I sleep, the idea will come to fruition. Then, when I wake in the morning I type out whatever flows from my head. Sometimes I use it and sometimes I don’t, but it’s nice to know that ideas always come.

3. What is the hardest and easiest part of the writing process for you?

Hmmmmm! I can answer this two ways:

a.) Specifically, plots and characters come easily to me, emotions, not so much. So I find it easy to write the story arc, but difficult to write the character’s emotional arc. I’m getting better at it, though.

b.) and secondly I’d have to say that when I first started writing the hardest part was revision and the easiest part was the plotting. Now, that I’ve been writing for over ten years I find I enjoy revision more. I guess that comes with the maturity of a seasoned writer. 

4. What five words best sum up your personality? 

Just five words?

Organized

Creative

Dedicated

Loyal

Friendly/Scary – depending on how you perceive the above 4. 

5. Other than writing, what else do you love to do?

I quilt. I’m a gourmet cook and I love to sing and dance.

6. Describe your perfect day.

In terms of writing, my perfect day is a rainy one. When the weather is inclement my creative juices flow into my work because wishing I were out in the sun does not distract me.

But when it’s a beautiful sunny day in the spring or fall I love to be outside reading or gardening.

7. Do you have a writing schedule?

Since I am an early riser and my husband is a late riser I go directly to my loft when I wake up. I work for about 2 hours until he awakens, then go down to start my day. I work on my novels in the AM.

Evenings, after supper I work on critiques, poems and picture books.

8. What is your current or next project?

They say things come in “threes.” I’m happy to announce that last month I was notified:

1.)  That I will have a poem coming out in an international anthology on sports for children titled, And the Crowd Goes Wild available in August 2012.

2.)  That my YA short story, “The Storyteller’s Daughter,” will be one of seven stories featured in Pugalicious Press’s YA anthology, Timeless, available in June 2012.

3.)   And lastly, I’ve sold my first YA novel, but since I haven’t signed the contract yet, I’d rather keep the details under wraps for now.  But it too should be available by the end of this year or early next year.

Currently I’m revising a MG historical fiction with my MG Critique Group, The Red Pen Writers, and simultaneously, I’m also revising my YA contemporary novel with my YA Crit Group, the YA WONDERWRITERS.

9. Where can we reach you? 

Website – www.gayleckrause.com

Blog – http://thestorytellersscroll.blogspot.com

Twitter – Twitter@GeeCeeK

Facebook – Gayle C Krause

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Interviews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rockin’ the Writing Life – Interview with Children’s and YA Author Gayle C. Krause

  1. Gayle says:

    Thanks for the opportunity to spread the word about Timeless. I’m grateful for your hospitality. It was fun doing the interview.

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop for New YA Release – Ratgirl: Song of the Viper | The Sandy Side of Life

Leave a Reply

