Hypnagogic – Am I Dreaming?

Hypnagogic: A half-dream, according to Merriam-Webster word of the day definition, occurring in the period of drowsiness immediately preceding sleep. 

Maybe I was in a hypnagogic state when I wrote this odd piece first published in the Dead Mule School of Southern Literature in 2009:

 

 

WARNING FROM A SCOTTISH FOLD

There’s a sign on my front door
that was first drawn in red,
but now, it’s covered with licks of white paint
an odd attempt to blot out the words,
but they will always be there,
although, to date,
they’re smothered in a sort of
pasty oatmeal.

The words read:
I Do Not Want to Talk to You—
underneath
there’s a picture of a sweet kitten
with round eyes and
fangs that go all the way to his feet,
a stubby tail
and ears folded onto his head
like twin triangles.
He murmurs at night,
as I pass the closed door
inside the house,
and he keeps the snow
from blowing in.

Once, I opened the door
and stood outside on the steps,
my bare feet searing prints
into the whiteness,
my breath streaming into the night.
When the hidden kitten on my door
muttered in Gaelic,
the snow hurtled upwards,
flying and skirling in a tunnel of flakes,
sticking to the moon.


About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Favorite Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

