A Magical Interview with Adult and YA Author Ruth Knafo Setton

Ruth Knafo Setton

Ruth Knafo Setton

  1. Do you have a favorite place to write?

After many years of scrambling to create a space to write, I’ve finally been blessed with a room of my own—a study I’ve filled with magical pictures, books and amulets given by friends, and best of all, a window through which I see trees and sky. 

  1. What do you love most about writing?

I’m fearless on the page, and I love the fact that anything can happen.

  1. What is the hardest and easiest part of the writing process for you?

Hardest: Getting started. Finding my way into a new world. I go through many false starts before I hit on the key that opens the door to my new story.

 Easiest: Revision, because I’ve already got something to work with and am not facing the blank page.

  1. What five words best sum up your personality?

Curious, passionate, sensitive, loyal, sensual 

  1. Other than writing, what else do you love to do?

I love to travel and read, and could happily spend my life between the two: discovering new places and people in the world and on the page. 

  1. Describe your perfect day.

Get up early, sit near a window with coffee my husband made me, and my notebook and pen.

Hours pass while ideas and images tumble forth in wild brilliance.

In a daze, set down pen and go for a walk or do yoga.

Eat. Then type what I wrote earlier in the day. 

Spend the rest of the day editing and researching and writing.

Dinner with loved ones and relax.

  1. Do you have a writing schedule?

I write every morning except when I’m traveling. Then I usually jot down notes and impressions.

  1. What are your past, current, and/or next projects?

I just finished MIDNIGHT SIREN, the first novel in a magical YA trilogy. I’m now editing the novel, and beginning work on a new one. After that I hope to write the second book of the trilogy.

  1. Where can we reach you? (Twitter, Facebook, website, blog, etc.)

Facebook and my website: www.ruthknafosetton.com/

Find Ruth’s book THE ROAD TO FEZ on Amazon.com.

 

 

 

 

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Interviews, Photos, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Magical Interview with Adult and YA Author Ruth Knafo Setton

  1. Loved this interview! Ruth, I would have described you with the same six words, and if you add a swim in a lake I’d share your vision of a perfect day. Nice to hear what you’re up to. YA??

Leave a Reply

