Running Toward Inspiration

I recently gave a presentation to a children’s writing group where I told them inspiration for writing poetry or stories was found in interests and experiences in your own life and ‘borrowed’ from family, friends, and even strangers.

Here’s a twist on insomnia and a sprinter’s stance in the running blocks inspired by my daughter, a collegiate runner. It was first published in Rick Rofihe‘s marvelous online journal anderbo.Sprinter 

FALSE START

You,
sleeping next to me,
buried in the half-light,
cough and sigh
while bees grind in my chest,
beating their wings,

cooling my heart, then
settle.

I prepare to chase my dream,
crouching like a sprinter,
digging my fingers into the dirt,
palms creased,
feet pressed into the starting blocks:
ready.

You cough once more;
I slant forward, push the noise away.
My legs skim the track,
piercing the dream-clouds.

The flight of bees is swarming
deep in my chest,
dark, disturbed,
restless, when

a sliver of light
splits our bedroom curtains, and
the cloud scatters, moving
my starting line for sleep

yet again.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

