A Slimsy Excuse for a Post Today

Cards

Slimsy: frail or flimsy; a blending of the two words slim and flimsy

Here is another interesting offering from the Merriam-Webster Word of the Day. Slimsy. I like it. I like blending words. I’ve blended poetry as well. Here’s an example of blended poetry I invented published in the Winter 2009 edition of the Tipton Poetry Journal:

THE BLUE SIDE OF WINTER I                        

A tiny sparrow
half-frozen
half-quivering
curled in my palms
my breath puffs like summer gusts,  
he wakes

THE BLUE SIDE OF WINTER II

hidden in a blue snow-shadow
the bird lays silently
this tiny life
now tucked in a mitten sack
he stirs
then flutters toward the opal sky.

THE BLUE SIDE OF WINTER III

A tiny sparrow
hidden in a blue snow-shadow
half-frozen

the bird lays silently
half-quivering

this tiny life
curled in my palms

now tucked in a mitten sack
my breath puffs like summer gusts,

he stirs
he wakes

then flutters toward the opal sky.

I thought I’d combine my own name and came up with Sandreen to mean sort of a sand green color. Sandreen actually exists as a girl’s name. It’s Greek for defending men, which is what Sandra means as well. 

Is my new favorite color sand green? Maybe not. I think I’ll stick with purple.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Favorite Words, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

