Through a Door, Darkly

Imagine this – I enter my bedroom. On the other side of the room, my closet door clicks and swings open. I watch for a cat to come out, but none appears.

I wait. When I inspect the closet, there is no one (thing) there. I put it all down to the change in air pressure as I enter the room. I’ll check out that theory later. But it gets me thinking about writing, or blogging, as I need a new subject for a post. I could write about ghosts! Or about reviving a previous manuscript by completely revising it! I go downstairs and exercise for 25 minutes. Then I make a pot of tea and read a little. Edward Bloor’s, Story Time. It’s delightful.

Now I understand my ghost. The Ghost of Procrastination has taken up residency in my closet. He has made himself comfortable on the bar where I hang my good intentions and shuffles among my shoes of postponement. This is not a good thing. I need a writing exorcist.

Excuse me. I need to sort out my closet, and I don’t mean getting a bag together for Goodwill.

PS I still think a new story about a ghost is a good idea.

Through a door, darkly

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Through a Door, Darkly

  1. Daniel says:

    A story about a ghost is always a good idea.

  2. yazrooney says:

    Hmmm… procrastination! Don’t I know about that one!

  3. I like the Procrastination Ghost as a story idea. I’ve never heard of anything like that before.

    I did a post on procrastination a few months ago. Take a look if you wish.
    http://mikeallegra.com/2012/03/31/enough-rewriting-already/

    Glad I found your blog!
    Mike

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

