An Anonymous Interview of An Insatiable Book Blogger/Reviewer

Born in the North and raised (mostly) in the South,Anonymous reader Gina the Anonymous Book Reviewer/Blogger still holds onto her Northern roots. Gina is an avid book reader, reviewer, and general lover of the written word. Her general preferences lean toward YA and fiction genres, but she’s open to new finds. She hopes to shed some light on the books residing in both her virtual and physical shelves, gaining them a spot in her readers future TBR mountain!
  1. What are your favorite genres to review? 

Young Adult, Children’s, Women’s Fiction, Fiction, and the occasional memoir…

  1. How did you decide to review books and blog about them? 

A coworker with similar reading interests and I were discussing her established blog and encouraged me to give it a try.  I took my first tentative steps into the blogging world a little over 3 years ago and haven’t looked back since.

  1. How often do you blog? 

I aim for once a day every day but sometimes life gets in the way. C’est la vie. 

  1. If you could have dinner with any author(s), who would they be and why? 

Hard question!  I know most people choose authors from yesteryear but here’s the thing….while I do enjoy the classics as well, and applaud authors for the creative heart they pour into their work, it is the work that I fall head over heels for.  That being said a few of my guests would have to include…Harper Lee (who didn’t love TKAMB?  Wonderful story, so moving…)…Marilyn Brant (her work is always able to draw me into the story every time AND she’s not afraid to give her characters a happy ending!)…Lisa Mantchev (so creative and theatrical, she’s bound to bring color to the party!), Cathrynne Valente (such imagination in her stories!), Beth Hoffman (such care shown for the lives of her characters plus she’s a sweetheart to work with!), Charlene Anne Baumbich (always makes sure to inject just enough hope into her works…keeps everyone centered), Alexander Gordon Smith (okay, so he’d be the “dark soul” amongst the bunch but I’d be curious to meet the person behind those eerie works he’s penned)…you did say dinner PARTY didn’t you?  Because this list could go on for quite a bit…

  1. How important is the cover of the book to your first impression of the story?

 It depends.  If it’s from an author I know either by speaking with them or through their previous works, not that much actually….I try to adhere to the old “don’t judge a book by its cover” adage anyway.  However, if it is someone I’ve never encountered, the cover art, color palette, title and font choice play a bigger part in me reaching out to have a look; something has to grab your attention after all.

  1. Have you ever read a book and found a character particularly memorable (for either good or evil qualities)? 

Hard question number two!  The answer for me is a tentative no…but only just.  You see, in all the books I’ve read, there is usually someone that fits that bill and lives on long after the final page has turned.  I merely need something to spark that memory for them to come flying back in living color.

Catch up with Gina on her blog, Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers, and these other sites:

http://insatiablereaders.blogspot.com

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/GRgenius

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/GRgenius

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Interviews, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Anonymous Interview of An Insatiable Book Blogger/Reviewer

  1. Lovely interview with a fabulous book blogger! Gina and I have been blogging about the same time and she’s one of my absolute favorite people ever. I’m so thrilled to see her being interviewed! Such an amazing person and incredible book promoter/reader! 🙂

Leave a Reply

