Twofer Tuesday – A Tale of Biscuit Shoes

Crumbled shoesI can’t remember when I bought these shoes, probably five or six years ago, but I’ll remember the last time I wore them – yesterday. They’re a name brand (malls even have entire stores dedicated to them), but when I wore them in the rain, they softened and crumbled like biscuits!   Frankly, I found it hilarious as I shortened with each step while leaving trails of ‘man-made material’ like Hansel and Gretel strewing bread crumbs. I threw the pair out as soon as I got home. 

What’s to learn in all this? Things don’t last? Don’t go out in the rain? How about time marches on, even if we have to follow in our bare feet:

“March on. Do not tarry. To go forward is to move toward perfection. March on, and fear not the thorns, or the sharp stones on life’s path.” ~ Kahlil Gibran  

and

“Art produces ugly things which frequently become more beautiful with time. Fashion, on the other hand, produces beautiful things which always become ugly with time.” ~ Jean Cocteau

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Twofer Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

