How to Avoid Claggy Fingers…

Claggy: adj. sticky, claggy mud

Pig with mud

…use a spoon!

I came across this great word in Eva Ibbotson’s middle grade book, The Ogre of Oglefort, used to describe a lunch of  “…claggy gray meat with dumplings…” and knew I’d have to post about it.

Yuck! The word stopped me and pulled me out of the story, but in a good way. My curiosity about this adjective urged me to look it up, not that its sound alone wouldn’t show me what it meant. I’m glad I did.

As for the character in the story, I’m not sure he ate much of his lunch to worry about claggy fingers!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Favorite Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Avoid Claggy Fingers…

  1. Joanne Fritz says:

    Great word, claggy! I see what you mean about it pulling you out of the story in a good way. Don’t think I’d want to eat meat that was gray, let alone claggy…

  2. Sandy Green says:

    Haha! Food for thought!

  3. theresagreen says:

    Yes, great word, used more in the North of England and applied more to mud – clever to apply to an ogre’s gravy!

Leave a Reply

