Four Fruit Freezer Jam

Four Fruit Freezer Jam

Four Fruit Jam I enjoyed at Le Pain Quotidien restaurant inspired me to create my own version. I bought raspberries, currants, and sour cherries at a local farmers’ market. The strawberries didn’t look fresh, so I used frozen ones. The juice from the currants gives the jam a fresh, bright flavor while the sweetness of the raspberries and strawberries balance the tartness of the cherries.

currants, raspberries, strawberries, sour cherries

I washed new plastic freezer jars from Ball.

Ball freezer jars

Here’s my recipe:

recipeFour Fruit Freezer Jam

5 cups fruit (I used a mixture of strawberries, raspberries, sour cherries, and the juice and currantspulp of currants after I heated them until soft with 1/4 cup water to 1 cup fruit and pushed through a sieve)

2 cups sugar

6 T pectin

zest and juice of 1/2 lemon

sugar and pectin

Mix  the pectin with the suger in one bowl. Pit the cherries and slice, and add to strawberries and raspberries in another bowl. Add currant juice/pulp to the fruit mixture and crush with a potato masher.

fruit mixture

Add fruit to sugar and stir for three minutes.

Ladle into clean jars and let sit for ten minutes. Enjoy immediately, or freeze up to a year.

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four Fruit Freezer Jam

  1. Pingback: Overnight Bread that Doesn’t Loaf Around | The Sandy Side of Life

  2. Pingback: Ra-ta-ta-touille: The Dish that Deserves a Drum Roll | The Sandy Side of Life

Leave a Reply

