Talking Like a Teen – An Interview with YA Author Linda Acorn Budzinski

Linda Budzinski

Linda Budzinski

Linda Acorn Budzinski decided in the second grade that she wanted to be a “Paperback Writer,” just like in the Beatles song. She majored in journalism in college and now works in marketing and communications. She spent 18 years at a trade association in the funeral service industry, where she discovered that funeral directors are some of the bravest and most compassionate people on earth. Linda lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, Joe, and their chihuahua, Demitria. She has two step-daughters, Eris and Sarah. THE FUNERAL SINGER is her debut novel. She is represented by Andrea Somberg of Harvey Klinger Inc.

1. Do you have a favorite place to write?

I write in my bed, mainly because it is the very first thing I do each day, before the craziness starts and before my “inner editor” can wake up and start harassing me.

2. What do you love most about writing?

I love it when the story takes a twist I never saw coming. The subconscious is a very cool and mysterious creature.

3. What is the hardest and easiest part of the writing process for you?

Plotting is by far the hardest, especially when I get to the “sagging middle” of my work. Dialogue is probably easiest. I find it ridiculously easy to “talk” like a teen.

4. What five words best sum up your personality?

Introvert who loves to laugh.

5. Other than writing, what else do you love to do?

I love crosswords, hanging out with my husband and my puppy, and doing basically anything on or near the water.

6. Describe your perfect day.

A perfect day would involve a little writing, a little walking, a fancy pedicure, and dinner and a show with my husband. Oh, yeah, and checking my Amazon stats to discover my book had hit the top 100 in sales.

7. Do you have a writing schedule?

I have a day job that pretty much drains me, so early morning writing is all I can usually manage. I end up writing for about a half hour every day, maybe a little more on weekends. It’s a really slow way to write a novel, but eventually the words do add up!

8. What are your past, current, and/or next projects and a link to them?

THE FUNERAL SINGER is my first published novel. It’s the story of Melanie Martin,

The Funeral Singer

The Funeral Singer

who sings part-time at her father’s funeral home until a video of her singing “Amazing Grace” goes viral on YouTube. She becomes an overnight sensation, attracting thousands of fans and followers, and even a rock star boyfriend. But she soon discovers that instant fame isn’t easy, and one wrong move can put the nail in its coffin.

Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

My next project is another YA contemporary with strong romantic elements. It’s not a sequel. In fact, it’s quite different from THE FUNERAL SINGER. And that’s all I’ll say about it for now!

You can reach Linda at the following sites:

Twitter: @LindaBudz

Facebook: Linda Budzinski – Author

Website: http://www.lindabudzinski.com

Thanks for the interview and best of luck with your new book!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Interviews, Photos, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talking Like a Teen – An Interview with YA Author Linda Acorn Budzinski

  1. Cyndy Unwin says:

    Great interview, Sandy!! And congratulations to you, Linda! I can’t wait to read your book!

Leave a Reply

