Wandering the YA Worlds of Author Jenny Peterson

 JENNY COON PETERSON

Jenny Peterson is a writer and editor based in Denver, CO. Reading and writing YA and new adult is her first love, and she spends an inordinate amount of time dreaming up fantastical worlds for kick-ass heroines. She also splits her time as an assistant editor for a YA publisher. The Descendants Series, her e-novella trilogy, is being released by indie publisher Buzz Books USA.

When not writing or editing, she enjoys exploring the mountains and lakes of Colorado, shopping local, dominating at trivia and traveling. She lives in an old Victorian house with her husband and two lazy tabbies named after Harry Potter characters. 

  1. Do you have a favorite place to write?

I set up my home office to be familiar and inspirational at the same time. I’ve got my vintage owl-base lamp for lighting, a golden snitch next to my laptop, paintings from my sister and grandfather on one wall. I also sit facing a gigantic map of the world (the pull-down kind you probably remember from school). Whenever I lack focus, I can play “where to travel next” with the map.

  1. What do you love most about writing?

I love that no matter where I am—a coffee shop, the kitchen table—I can lose myself in a world completely of my making. When I’m writing, my characters and their world become like friends, and I relate real-world events to them. How would Rachel react in this real situation? What would Kendra think of this dress? It’s awesome to try and think like my characters and helps make them multi-dimensional.

  1. What is the hardest and easiest part of the writing process for you?

The second draft is always the hardest. I’m a quick writer; I don’t have a lot of trouble banging out a first draft. But then when it comes to rewriting for the second draft … It’s daunting. After that it gets easier, but it’s facing that initial rewriting hill that gives me the shakes.

  1. What five words best sum up your personality? 

Creative, inquisitive, loyal, precise, dry.

  1. Other than writing, what else do you love to do?

I love to travel and discover new places every chance I get. I’ve had incurable wanderlust ever since I can remember, and that has led me on some unforgettable adventures. But exploring doesn’t mean a plane ticket. I’m up for discovering new places around the state and around the corner.

  1. Describe your perfect day.

Hiking in the morning, shopping in the afternoon, dinner with friends. Throw in a game of Trivial Pursuit or Scrabble, and that’s a perfect day for me. I try to keep local with my shopping and dining, and luckily I live in a city with lots of new places to try.

  1. Do you have a writing schedule?

I work as a freelance writer and editor, so maintaining a schedule is super important. I try to split my time evenly between the editing jobs that pay and the personal writing that, well, doesn’t (yet). But being paid or not, I look at this whole endeavor as a career and keep standard working hours. That helps keep my sanity.

  1. What are your past, current, and/or next projects?

I am currently releasing installments of a serialized novel through JukePop Serials. The Inbetween is a reality-hopping sci-fi with a kick-ass heroine. I’m also gearing up to participate in my third National Novel Writing Month. That’s always a tense, exciting time.

Creature Discomforts

Creature Discomforts

Book blurb: Best friends Rachel and Kendra are well past ready for things to go back to normal … or as normal as it can get for a demon hunter and a half-mermaid. College is supposed to be about study sessions and sneaking beer, not fighting monsters, right? But when girls on campus start disappearing, Rachel, Kendra and fellow demon hunter/annoyance extraordinaire Sid begin investigating. The closer they get to the truth, the more they realize there’s something hiding in the Georgia mountains that is much older and deadlier than your everyday demon. Forget studying for finals, these three will need to fight just to survive. Learn more about the novella and the Descendants at the series website.

Learn more about Jenny, her writing and her travels on her blog. Or, you can follow me on Twitter@JenC_P, FacebookGoodreads, or even Pinterest.

Thanks, Jenny, and Happy Reading to you, too!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wandering the YA Worlds of Author Jenny Peterson

  1. Pingback: How I Write – The Descendants Series

Leave a Reply

