Winning Contest Entry!

Yay! Astraea Press, my publisher for my forthcoming YA novel, No One’s Watching (February 2014), sponsored a 100-word writing contest among its authors. Since we write fiction, the premise was writing an over-the-top reason (well, a big fat lie) about why we need extra money for the holiday season.

I won! Here’s my 98-word poem:

Oscar's Toe Beans

Oscar’s Toe Beans

KEEPING THE TOE BEANS WARM

I check my old purse
It’s empty as air,
I need dough right now
‘cause I’m in despair.

My cats must have shoes
not any will do,
The kind made of silk
in three shades of blue.

Their toe beans are cold
from walking on tile,
They stay on the couch
and sleep in a pile.

I serve them their food
from bowls on a tray,
And groom them with love
through most of the day.

The trips to their box
are really what’s gross,
Those shoes are a must,
I’m turning morose!

 Thanks, Publisher Stephanie Taylor!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Holidays, Poetry, Whimsy, Writing, Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winning Contest Entry!

  1. jackiemallon says:

    That brought a smile together with an “awwww” from the pic of the paw pad 🙂

  2. Sandy Green says:

    It took a few takes to get the picture! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

