Happy Earth Day!

Happy Earth Day

Bleeding Hearts

Bleeding Hearts

To celebrate, here’s a poem of mine first published in a children’s magazine:

EARTH DAY CAKES

I’m making Happy Earth Day Cakes
I have my pail in hand
In goes a scoop of garden soil,
A sneaker full of sand

I add some birdseed, they won’t mind,
A pinch of petals, too
A sprinkle from the garden hose
And stir until it’s goo

Pat, pat, I smooth it in a tub
We once used for cream cheese
I press it firmly, set it down
And shoo away the bees

A week goes by, I’m sure it’s done
I want to give a shout
The birdseed that I added in
Has all begun to sprout!

About Sandy Green

I am a poet and children's author. Visit my website at sandradgreen.webs.com
This entry was posted in Holidays, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

