Michelle Nangle, or as she’s known by her author name Shelly Mack, is a fellow Monarch author who writes YA and picture books. She graciously interviewed me on her blog in early December 2023. Here is the interview:

Meet the Author: Monarch Showcase

One of the loveliest parts of my journey is connecting with writers. When Monarch decided to publish Landis, I was introduced to a team of authors I’m honoured to know. I want to introduce some of them to you this month. Some you might know already and the rest are authors to watch out for.

Meet Sandy Green. Thank you to the lovely Sandy for letting me into your writing world. For more info on Sandy and her upcoming book, check my stories and subscribe to her website. ❤️

Q&A

1.Tell us about your books?
I have a middle grade horror-in-verse set to be released from Monarch Books in May 2024. It’s called Ghost Writers: The Haunting of Lake Lucy. I’m working on a sequel and hope to write a three book Ghost Writers series.

2.How do your plan your writing days?
I take a walk in the neighborhood while listening to either a middle grade podcast or middle grade book. Then I sit outside, weather permitting, and write using notes I scribbled to myself in the dark in bed the previous night!

3.Do you ever suffer from writers’ block and if so, how do you overcome it?
Yes! I find reading a well-written book, no matter the genre or age group, helps jump start my writing.

4.Where do you take inspiration from?
Reading, nature, other people’s stories. Asking ‘What if?”

5.Do you have favourite characters to write?I like to write about characters who have something to prove to themselves, even if they don’t realize it at the time.

6.What advice would you give to aspiring authors?
For a start, I would say join the SCBWI for their excellent resources and programs.

I loved reading these answers. Wishing you every success, Sandy, in your writing future. 🦋

Thank you, Michelle, for interviewing me!

Leave a comment