Posted on  by Carol Baldwin

Listen Up by Monarch Publishing Author Abbie Crank, is a young adult novel that will help readers learn to look beyond outward appearances and appreciate the value of individuals under the surface. Sometimes we find true blue friends when we take the time to crack a person’s outward societal façade and uncover gems of character or morals deep down at the heart level. You never know if a kind word or caring action may brighten someone’s outlook and even save their life! While I don’t have much experience dealing with some of the tough teen issues discussed in the novel, a read heightened my awareness of the importance of spreading Christ’s light and love to those I come in contact with in my workplace and friend circles.

Keres is a highschool student with a passion for songwriting and all things musical. She may have the talent and passion to strike it big on the stage but her personality and family background present some roadblocks to this dream. As a child she used to pal around with a rich kid while her mother cleaned house for his family. Keres downplays her talent and refuses to post any of her personal compositions online because she is too shy and insecure to do so. Who would want to hear the insignificant musical ramblings from a Cinderella type social nobody? However insecure Keres may feel on the outside, her caring and kind personality on the inside in a moment of crisis may save someone’s life! One night Keres “listens up”  to an anonymous call for help on her favorite podcast and successfully identifies the caller as her childhood playmate who now struggles with depression. Can she gain some self confidence and  have the courage to rekindle friendship with this individual before depression has the last word? Can she also use that newfound self confidence to get her name out there as a budding musician and begin her musical career in earnest? 

PRE-ORDERS HELP AUTHORS!

Did you know that pre-ordering a book before it’s released (Listen Up is publishing May 7) helps authors? Please read all about it on this blog! Readers– here is a way you can help an author. Authors-in-training–remember this when it’s time to share your book!

ABOUT KATIE LUNDEEN

The Lord’s hand of watchful care and protection blessed my life from my start as a tiny premature infant. Doctors diagnosed me with cerebral palsy from birth complications which mainly affected my legs and motor skills.  I also have a learning disability that does not allow me to write down or process thoughts as fast as other people.  I am a former homeschooler and obtained an Associate in Arts degree from a North Carolina community college after five years of hard work! I discovered and developed a love for writing in college. Now I pen articles for my local church newsletter and write book reviews. I enjoy my current job as a part-time library assistant in a Christian library in Matthews, NC. I have a servant’s heart and a willing attitude to grow in old skills and develop new ones along whatever path the Lord chooses to take me.

Listen Up on Amazon

Leave a comment